Quick Quinoa Supper

Let me preface this by saying a few things.   First, I make no claim to being good in the kitchen; for the most part, I follow recipes and those tend to work with slight allowances made for my Cajuning everything I touch.  Secondly, I Cajun practically everything, meaning that I add tabasco or cayenne or Tony Chacere’s or some variant and meaning that I inevitable start every dish by either making a roux or sauteing the Cajun trinity (celery, bell pepper, onions).  Thirdly, I do not eat creamy foods.  I hate cheese and tend to avoid most things involving any hint thereof.  I know that you think I’m crazy, but that’s just the way I am.  I’d rather my food be tomato-y or tangy than cheesy or creamy.  So, before you try my foods, you should know that.  You might say that cheese or cream is missing.  And you may be right as far as the typical palate goes.  But my palate isn’t typical and I’m cooking for my palate.  So there.  Also, one of my hands down favorite foods is olives of almost any type, except the cheap black kind that comes on crappy pizzas and on Subway sandwiches.  Those are useless.

So now that you know, I can talk about my supper tonight.  I made quinoa for the first time.  I’ve been wanting to adopt it as a staple in my diet, seeing as everyone thinks is so healthy.  I just hadn’t made the leap until tonight because I found it to be an unfriendly food.  The recipes I saw that used it were all cold salads.  I like cold foods ok, but if I’m going to eat mush, I want it to be warm mush.  So tonight, I made some warm mush.  You can see it below.  It looks like glorified baby food.  But it was good, in my opinion.

Now, before you judge me for my lack of fresh ingredients, I’d like to note that I haven’t been to the grocery store in close to two weeks between being sick and being out of town, so I had to make my supper wholly from pantry staples.  Fresh foods were not an option.

Anyway, here’s what I made:

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

1 can crushed tomatoes (I actually used halved, stewed tomatoes, but would have liked to use crushed).

green manzanilla olives, several

1 can chickpeas, drained’

1 sm. can tomato sauce

1 chicken bouillon cube

garlic

1.  Cook quinoa in rice cooker using 1 cup quinoa to 2 cups water.  Add tbsp of butter (or so) to prevent sticking.  Add cube of bouillon for added flavor.

2.  While quinoa cooks in rice cooker, saute garlic in olive oil in med sized skillet.  Add chickpeas, green olives, and crushed tomatoes.  (I chopped the olives while in skillet).  Season with oregano, black pepper, garlic tabasco (use a lot of seasoning).   I did not add any salt  because of the salt in the olives and the chicken bouillon.  Add can tomato sauce.  Cook until quinoa is finished.

3.  Toss together, mixing thoroughly.  Adjust seasoning.

Super easy and tasty.  I’m fairly confident that you can combine any random stuff like this over quinoa and it will be satisfying.  I would have loved to add some sort of greens such as spinach if I had had any, but I didn’t.  Maybe next time.  What do you like to put over your quinoa when you make a quick and simple supper?

1 Comment

Filed under food

One response to “Quick Quinoa Supper

  1. Here’s another take I learned of today. It’s called Sunshine Quinoa.

    Just mix up quinoa w/ chopped cucumber, pignoli nuts, orange juice & lime juice cut up grape tomatoes and scallions. Can’t wait to try!

Leave a Reply

