Plant mystery solved! Hallelujah!

In case you don’t regularly read my blog, memorizing every image, video, word, then a) you are a horrible human being and b) I’ll have to refresh your memory. A little while ago I posted some pictures of plants that I had takin’ a shine to but that I couldn’t identify.

Well, today, thankfully, I can say that I have figured at least one of these suckers out. Here’s the original post for your reference.

Above are the pictures I originally posted. Some helpful people offered suggestions, but they did not turn out to be correct. (Thanks for trying 🙂

Luckily, today I wandered into the local Fresh Market to buy some fruit and I stopped to look at all the plants featured in the entryway. I was looking among the primroses for one to buy when I found the pink flowered plant below.

 

mystery plant

I gasped then began to giggle as a sense of victory began to overtake me. Would this plant possibly have an identifying tag or marker? Please, oh, please . . .

IT DID! According to Fresh Market and now confirmed by a Google Image search, I am happy to report that the mystery plant is a cyclamen. Needless to say, I bought it.

So now, for my ever-devoted fans, I will expound and extol the virtues of this newly identified species.

So here it goes:

Cyclamens

  • perennial
  • grows from tubers
  • 23 different species
  • native from Europe and the Mediterranean region east to Iran, with one species inSomalia.
  • are colloquially called by a name like the English sowbread, because they are said to be eaten by pigs: pain de pourceau in French, pan porcino in Italian, varkensbrood in Dutch, pigs’ manjū in Japanese.
  • usually grows well in USDA Zone 7 and up
  • blooms in late winter or early spring
  • Potting Soil: Cyclamen persicum does best planted in a soil-based potting mix, with the top of the tuber just slightly above the soil line.
  • Watering:
    • When leaves are present, the plant is actively growing. Water whenever the soil feels dry. Avoid getting water on the crown of the plant.
    • As the flowers begin to fade, gradually allow the plant to dry out for 2-3 months. It’s going into a dormant stage (see below) and any excess water will cause the tuber to rot.
    • New growth will probably start to appear around September. At this point, resume watering and feeding. Bring it back indoors before the cold weather.
  • High humidity, especially during winter, is crucial. Keep the cyclamen on a tray of water with a layer of pebbles or something else to form a shelf for the cyclamen pot to sit on. Do not let the cyclamen itself sit in the water.
  • Give cyclamen bright, indirect light in the winter. While your plant is dormant during the summer, keep it out of bright light.

(sources: Wikipedia and About.com)


PS) First person to comment on this post will obtain the honor of me renaming the plant after them. Furthermore, as I am devoted to my readership and especially to my commenters, I will tirelessly lobby the botanical community to follow suit. Don’t all jump at once . . .

And now, to reflect my current level of joy, the one and only Ray Charles

 

3 Comments

Filed under beauty, gardening

3 responses to “Plant mystery solved! Hallelujah!

  1. David

    I would like you to name the plant “Collin Wade is Terrible”

  2. allyson

    listen to peggy lee’s “hallelujah i love him so”

Leave a Reply

