Louisiana lovin’

After a difficult week in football for Louisianans, I need to renew my Louisiana pride. LSU just shamed us and the Saints, though they gave it a damn good try, left us speechless in a bad way.

So here’s a round-up of some non-football ways to brag on your home.

Lately, I’ve noticed a wealth of cool T-shirts and other products celebrating Louisiana in an awesome way.  I really want this doormat from the DirtyCoast.

They also have some super cute coasters that look similar (only smaller).

Here’s some from New Orleans Skip n’ Whistle on Oak Street.  Remember K&B?  For years after they sold out to Rite Aid, my mom complained about how Rite Aid just didn’t have the same quality of products . . .  for years, I had an unreasonable aversion to Rite Aid.

These shirts are by far my favorite.  They are from a shop in Lafayette called Parish Ink.

I have this one:

Got this for my sister at Blackpot Festival.  She got a free piece of pie when she wore it to Strawn’s in Shreveport

These are definitely on my wish list:

Cypress Trees

Last, but not least, here are some posters featuring Louisiana pride that I’m dying to have:

(In case you are unacquainted with the Cajun Trinity, I’ll explain.  It’s one of the cornerstones of Louisiana cooking consisting of onions, bell pepper, and celery.  Pretty much a component of everything I make.  It’s derived from the French mirepoix, which is also a trinity but substitutes carrots for the bell pepper.)

Finally, I absolutely need a framed print of this:

Feel free to send gifts 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under culture, fashion, food, Louisiana is awesome, sports

Leave a Reply

