to regan: this week’s DIY (i hope)

English: Red Pinterest logo

Image via Wikipedia

As a child, coming from a family of freckled, fair-skinned, redheads, we always had to spend the hottest time of day inside during the summer.  We had a pool in our backyard, but my redheaded mother, being very sensitive to the dangers of the SUN to fairskinned ladies, wouldn’t let us swim between 10-4pm everyday.  So that time was devoted to art projects and reading.  As annoying as it was to have the Anal Mother in my group of friends, particularly when my best friend was Sri Lankan and therefore tan, I really enjoyed the crafting time.  One of our favorite things to do was to make things with salt dough and then paint them.

Now that I’m older, I still like projects, but I rarely get crafty, even though I like to imagine that one day I will finally [insert craft].  When my sister and I get together, we have a lot of fun doing crafts together and as she is out of school this week, I’m hoping to get some quality work done.  Here’s a few that I hope to try out (mostly found on Pinterest, of course).

http://www.veetje.be/make-it-love-it/

Here’s one I found on wit + delight by way of the happyhomeblog.

weekend project: paper mache + gold leaf decorative bowl « the happy home.

The result is really nice!

Other potential projects

Regan will love this one – birdnest necklace tutorial

This brings me back to my salt dough days.

http://reccashay.tumblr.com/post/13641903957/salt-dough-2-cups-flour-1-cup-salt-cold-water

And last, but not least:

Magazine paper rolled up and glued to a balloon. Burst balloon after drying.

Source: veetje.be via Collin on Pinterest

2 Comments

Filed under crafts

2 responses to “to regan: this week’s DIY (i hope)

  1. Regan

    I.CAN”T.WAIT. I’ll bring the magazines!!

Leave a Reply

